Instruction‎ > ‎Special Education‎ > ‎

Related Services

Virginia regulations define related services as:  

"Related services" means transportation and such developmental, corrective, and other supportive services as are required to assist a child with a disability to benefit from special education and includes speech-language pathology and audiology services; interpreting services; psychological services; physical and occupational therapy; recreation, including therapeutic recreation; early identification and assessment of disabilities in children; counseling services, including rehabilitation counseling; orientation and mobility services; and medical services for diagnostic or evaluation purposes. Related services also include school health services and school nurse services; social work services in schools; and parent counseling and training. Related services do not include a medical device that is surgically implanted including cochlear implants, the optimization of device functioning (e.g., mapping), maintenance of the device, or the replacement of that device. The list of related services is not exhaustive and may include other developmental, corrective, or supportive services (such as artistic and cultural programs, and art, music and dance therapy), if they are required to assist a child with a disability to benefit from special education. (§ 22.1-213 of the Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 300.34(a) and (b))

King George Related Service Providers

 Jeff Butler, School Psychologist,  jbutler@kgcs.k12.va.us

Jason Wheeler, School Psychologist,  jwheeler@kgcs.k12.va.us

Amber Hammock, Occupational Therapist, ahammock@kgcs.k12.va.us

 Catherine Terrill, Occupational Therapy Assistant, cterrill@kgcs.k12.va.us

                                                                 Tyler Midkiff, Physical Therapist, tmidkiff@alliedinstructional.com

                                                                    Robin Jackson, Behavior Specialist, rjackson@kgcs.k12.va.us

                                                                                     Jesse Forbes, Music Therapist jforbes10@su.edu

                                                       Michelle Gagnon, Deaf and Hard of Hearing mgagnon@alliedinstructional.com

                                                       Noelle Davoy, Teacher of Blind and Visually Impaired ndavoy@kgcs.k12.va.us

    Donna Farrar, Vision and O&M dfarrar@kgcs.k12.va.us

Cindy Adkins, Vision and O&M cadkins@alliedinstructional.com 


                                                                                            Speech Language Pathologists:

Jill Wine, Early Childhood Special Education, jwine@kgcs.k12.va.us

 Michelle Tritt, Early Childhood Special Education, mtritt@kgcs.k12.va.us

Carole Greeley, Sealston Elementary, cgreeley@kgcs.k12.va.us

Victoria Bunch, Potomac Elementary School, vbunch@kgcs.k12.va.us

 Sarah Allen, King George Elementary School, sallen@kgcs.k12.va.us

Rose Dunneback, King George Elementary School rdunneback@kgcs.k12.va.us  

Jessica Daniel, King George Middle/High School jdaniel@kgcs.k12.va.us