Gifted Resources

Announcement (4/28/20)

Due to the COVID-19 health crisis, Fredericksburg Regional Governor's School (FRGS) is cancelled for this summer.  Hopefully, the program will return in 2021.  Applications were originally due March 16, 2020 but will not be collected.  Thank you for your continued support and interest in the program.

Gifted Identification Closure Statement


With the closure of King George County Schools due to COVID-19, the timeline for gifted identification has been affected.  Gifted resource teachers will coordinate finishing assessments with students who were referred for gifted services when KGCS reopens.  We remain hopeful this can occur in the summer. When student assessments are complete, the division-level Gifted Identification/Placement Committee will meet to review cases and make decisions regarding eligibility as soon as possible. We will continue to keep you updated as the situation evolves.  Please monitor the division website for updates. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Amanda Higgins at ahiggins@kgcs.k12.va.us.



Amanda Higgins

Coordinator of Gifted Services

ahiggins@kgcs.k12.va.us

Sally Clements

KGES TAG English Grades 3-4

Sealston Elementary

Potomac Elementary

sclements@kgcs.k12.va.us


Dustin Pifer

KGES TAG English Grades 5-6

dpifer@kgcs.k12.va.us

Valerie Burke

KGES TAG Math Grade 3-6

vburke@kgcs.k12.va.us

Jessica Brown

KGMS TAG English 7

jlbrown@kgcs.k12.va.us

Carrie Nunez

KGMS TAG English 8

cnunez@kgcs.k12.va.us

Gifted Education Resources for Extended Closure


Smoot Library

The public library offers curbside pick up of materials


PBS Learning

Free lessons and videos


KenKen Puzzles

Free online puzzles


Breakout EDU

K-12 digital games


Thinking Skills

For grades 3-6, logic puzzles and bafflers


Mensa for Kids

Lesson plans, activity plans, TED Connections


Design Thinking

For grades K-5, 10 days of design challenges using recyclables


Parent TIP Sheets

Timely Information for Parents (TIP) provided by the National Association for Gifted Children


Parent Webinar

Free parent webinar, 4/7/20


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.