School Counseling

School counselors are an integral part of the learning environment and support students and families in many ways. The Virginia Department of Education describes the state wide school counseling program as:

"School counseling programs support the Standards of Learning by providing guidance to students in their academic, career, and personal and social development. School counselors collaborate with parents, teachers, administrators and others to promote learning and help students establish and achieve their education, career, and personal goals. School counselors provide leadership to ensure that students benefit from effective strategies and services aligned with the Standards for School Counseling Programs in Virginia Public Schools. The standards are organized by grade level under the following goals:

  • Academic Development - Students will acquire the academic preparation essential to choose from a variety of educational, training, and employment options upon completion of secondary school.

  •  Career Development - Students will investigate the world of work in order to make informed career decisions.

  •  Personal/Social Development - Students will acquire an understanding of, and respect for, self and others, and the skills to be responsible citizens."

Additional resources regarding the Virginia school counseling program can be found on the
Virginia Department of Education website.



KGHS Counseling Department
(540) 775-3535

Jazmin Coleman
School Counselor A - E
jcoleman@kgcs.k12.va.us

Linda Binion, Director
School Counselor F - I
lbinion@kgcs.k12.va.us

Virginia Clemo
School Counselor J - P
vclemo@kgcs.k12.va.us

Julie Robinson
School Counselor Q - Z 
jrobinson@kgcs.k12.va.us

Kelly Fronzo
Registrar
kfronzo@kgcs.k12.va.us

Terri Morrison
Counseling Secretary
tmorrison@kgcs.k12.va.us


KGMS Counseling Department
(540) 775-2331

Allison Daughtridge
School Counselor 8th Grade (20-21SY)
adaughtridge@kgcs.k12.va.us

Janet Gay
School Counselor 7th Grade (20-21SY)
jgay@kgcs.k12.va.us

Kelley Cox
Registrar and Counseling Secretary
kcox@kgcs.k12.va.us


KGES Counseling Department
(540) 775-5411

Sarah Ritchie & Bryon Scholl
School Counselors
sritchie@kgcs.k12.va.us
bscholl@kgcs.k12.va.us

Gail Bushrod
Registration and Reception
gbushrod@kgcs.k12.va.us


PES Counseling Department
(540) 663-3322

Robin Mitchell and Taylor Leavens
School Counselors
rmitchell@kgcs.k12.va.us
tleavens@kgcs.k12.va.us

Mary Halpin
PES Registration and Reception
mhalpin@kgcs.k12.va.us


SES Counseling Department
(540) 775-3400

Carolyn DeLoach and Melissa Herbolsheimer
School Counselors
cdeloach@kgcs.k12.va.us
mherbolsheimer@kgcs.k12.va.us

Kai Colwell
Registration and Reception
kcolwell@kgcs.k12.va.us


School Social Workers

School social work services are designed to provide a comprehensive approach to meeting the needs of students through early identification, prevention, intervention, counseling and support to assure academic success, educational equity and social justice for every student. School social workers work collaboratively with school personnel and parents to reduce or eliminate the social, emotional, economic and environmental barriers that may interfere with a student’s ability to maximally benefit from his/her education.

Additional resources regarding the Virginia school social worker program can be found on the
Virginia Department of Education website.

For more information on the work of school social workers, please see the King George County Schools School Social Work page. 


Diana Garland, KGHS
dgarland@kgcs.k12.va.us

Betsy Dzula, KGMS
edzula@kgcs.k12.va.us

Meg Campbell, SES and KGES
mcampbell@kgcs.k12.va.us

Jessica Magorian, PES and PreK
jmargorian@kgcs.k12.va.us



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.